Galway County Team and Groups

 Scout Groups are members of their local Scout County.

The Scout County is there to support the training of Scouters, the Youth Programme and the development of Groups within the County. The Scout County Board, which meets at least once a year, consists of Scouters and representatives of Scouts and Venture Scouts in each County elect County Officers (County Commissioner, County Secretary, County Treasurer) as well as County Programme and Training Co-ordinators.

The County Commissioner is primarily responsible for the managment and co-ordination of the resources of the Scout County in accordance with the policies of Scouting Ireland for the benefit of the Scout Groups within the Scout County.

The Scout County Management Committee consists of the Group Leaders, County Officers and Co-Ordinators it manages the County on behalf of the Board and who meet at least 4 times a year.

At present there are 22 active Scout Groups in County Galway.  These groups operate together as the Galway Scout County. 

The County is responsible for ensuring training and advice for all groups and helps organise events which multiple Troops participate in, from Beaver Hike Days to Weekend Camping trips and International Adventures!

Each Group can be identified by its neckerchief and badge.